Amstel Curacao Race

Today the Amstel Curacao Race will be held on Curacao. This is the twelfth time that this bicycle race is held and it is dedicated to the 100th Tour de France. Especially for this occasion a number of former Tour winners have gathered on the island. Toppers from the past such as Pedro Delgado, Joop Zoetemelk, Jan Janssen and Bernard Hinault are present at the ride. Of the former Tour winners, Pedro Delgado is the only one who actually participates in the Curacao cycling race.

The Amstel Curacao Race is a traditional closing of the cycling season. It is for the participants this year such as Johnny Hoogerland, Wout Poels, Pieter Weening and Jan Bakelants of course no punishment to travel to the vacation island of Curacao. A large part of the riders make use of the opportunity to enjoy a few days with the family around the race. The race will start on November 1, 2013 at 11:00 am from Lion's Dive beach resort. The riders will make a lap through Willemstad to the west of the island. They will return via a loop over the same route to the finish line again at Lion's Dive beach resort around 12:45pm.